Reviews

17 Sep 2016 - mrswiff wrote
*****

We stayed here for a short stay this past week and cannot praise the site highly enough. The chalet/apartment we stayed in was spotless, well appointed and had stunning views across the bay to the Isle of Man. I am disabled and on crutches but the chalet was easily accessible with one exception, the main living, bathroom and kitchen areas are fitted with laminate flooring, which turns into sheet ice when wet and on crutches! We had some rain during our stay and as a result I was having to rely on hubby to help me from slipping on the wet floor. However, if you're able bodied then it's not a problem 😊 The site itself was spotless too, with well kept grounds and well sign posted and the staff were friendly and helpful. This park is ideal for a quiet, peaceful break and we hope to visit again in the future.

17 Sep 2016 - watfordmale wrote
*****

Really enjoyed our 5 day visit at this site. We took my 95yr old mum, with wheelchair, for a little break and she loved it.
The site was very clean and cared for. We were shown to the chalet and I was quite impressed. It was clean, a reasonable size and had everything required for an enjoyable stay. The view from the living area overlooking the sea was beautiful with the coastline and hills of the Isle of Mann clearly visible.
The staff were very friendly and welcoming, always having time for a chat or assisting in any way they could.
When we arrived, the main holiday rush had ended so there were very few people on the site.
The shop had the basics required and the café caters for those who don’t wish to cook or eat out. Big portions when you order a breakfast, so watch out….
In the evening we headed down to the Bar area which was well stocked and very reasonable prices. With two Large TVs at each end of the bar, great for mum watching the tennis and football. There is a snooker room, pool tables and Games/Arcade area for the younger crowd or the gamblers among us.
I did want to have a go on the Pitch and Putt but with mum in a wheelchair this really wasn’t an option haha.
The Jacuzzi and sauna area was locked BUT all that was required was a chat to Chris and she had it opened up and pre heated for us on two occasions we booked it. It is free to use for guests. This makes sense and having it open and working when the site is sparsely occupied would be a great waste of money.
The area the site is situated in is beautiful, the closest village about two miles away, with harbour and a few facilities.
Pushing a wheelchair on chippings is not very easy so we ended up using the car to drive from the chalet area to the bar and shop. The only issue I would like the staff to address would be to put a Disabled parking spot in the car park, bedside the pathway leading into the bar facility. I can see this car park being full when the site is busy and this could cause a problem with transporting a disabled person.
We really enjoyed our time here and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to others.

29 Aug 2016 - evicka wrote
****

Stunning location, friendly staff. Great walk along coast to St Ninian's cave. Campsite needs some TLC, but more than sufficient for our needs. Outdoor pool a big disappointment - green with algae (somebody even spotted a frog!). Noisy entertainment, had to put in earplugs to sleep.

3 Jan 2015 - Chelskicupcake wrote
****

We loved this place! The owners were fabulous too. Very helpful. The chalet we stayed in was clean and comfortable and the views from the clifftops across to Isle of Man & Ireland are amazing. Beautiful sunsets across the sea & moonlight sparkling on the water. So peaceful and quiet & a lovely romantic little getaway. A wonderful "work in progress" by the current owners.

8 Oct 2014 - Glenn21 wrote
****

This was a great place to stay if you love peace and quiet with sea side views. The staff were really friendly and trusting. The owner was great and always will to stop and talk or find out if we needed anything. There was a few small things with made us rate this as 4*. But we knew this was under new ownership and was a work in progress. Loved this place for the weekend.

7 Sep 2012 - JollyRoger wrote
*****

We have stayed here a few times over the last few years and have noticed a lot of improvements, especially over the last 2 years.

I am pleased to see that the public facilities and clubhouse are much cleaner and better kept now.

The updated appartments are a massive improvement.

There is something for everyone to do here. The daily kids club and upgraded playground is fantastic for the kids.
A tennis court would be a good addition though?

Site is run by a very pleasant family who make you feel very welcome.

Keep up with the good work stuart!!!

17 Aug 2012 - weehen wrote
*****

having had a weekend at burrowhead holiday village which we really enjoyed we decided to make our caravan a permanent fixture on the site its such a tranquil place to be lots to do for all would definately recommend taking a trip to this site everybody so helpful

11 May 2012 - CatandOz wrote
*****

Visited the site for a long weekend and was extremely impressed. Breathtaking scenery along the coastal walks and fantastic sea views from the cabin we stayed in. The log cabin headland apartment apartment, whilst basic was more than adequate and comfortable and was great value for money.

Experience with the owner Stuart and all of the staff was first class with everyone being extremely friendly and happy to help. Will definitely be returning to this site and would recommend it to others.

20 Feb 2012 - catfishs wrote
*****

Although we were not actually staying at the park we love to visit Burrowhead for the stunning views along the coastline there. Whilst there we had the misfortune to get our car stuck in the mud. We had no reception on our mobile phones to phone for assistance and had to Call on Stuart, Part owner, in the recption area. He not only allowed us to use his phone to call for the RAC but also offered his assistance in his car as the site tractor was locked up for the winter. He managed to get us out of our predicament and we were so grateful for this. We offered money for him to get a drink but he wouldn't accept as that's the kind of man he is. We are eternally grateful as we were expecting to spend the night on the cliff tops!! Thank you Stuart you are a top bloke !!

27 Aug 2011 - toon dean wrote
****

Loved this great little find,we went for 3 nights but stayed for 7 nights.The kids loved it,fishing was great.The touring areas were very generous with space and found the price of everything to be very resonable.The views are fantastic with a clear view of isle of man from my caravan window.I found all of the staff very friendly from the owner to the guy who cuts the grass.The only problem i had was the odd person going a bit to fast in their cars past the kids play areas but this was dealt with quickly and taken very seriously by owner(stuart).Great place,great people and as Arnold said ILL BE BACK....

4 Jul 2011 - tamandjean wrote
*

Visited site for the weekend in a touring caravan. The site has great views and could be a great site. Having travelled the length of Scotland the two weeks previous and stayed at 9 different sites this was the most expensive (£25 per night).

There are two touring areas with only one toilet/shower block a fair distance away from the 'B' site. On arrival the toilet block was extremely dirty, the wash hand basins were dirty, the floors were covered in dirt and flaking paint from the ceiling. The toilets were very smelly. The urinals were blocked. The toilet doors did not have locks. There was no hand drying facility. The showers were best described as manky, with mould growing out the walls. I complained to the management who said they apologised and said the toilets were cleaned 5 days a week.

I returned a few hours later to discover the cleaners had been in and mopped the floors and the fungus had been washed from the showers. The urinals had blue cleaning agent squirted around the bowl but they were still blocked and full of urine. Fortunately I did not require to use the facilities or I would have left the site on arrival.

The site has some good points, pitch and putt, putting green, childs play area, outdoor pool (could do with upgrading) scenery to die for.

I could not recommend this site unless they completely revamped their facilities. There is also several older caravans that let the site down.

28 Dec 2009 - daviebhoy wrote
****
This reviewer is:
a family with children, a tourer/motorhomer

Had our tourer on for the season. Thought the scenery was lovely and that park seems to be improving, a potential gold mine. kids loved it and made lots of friends. Staff are friendly and tariff for season is unbeatable. Downsides are: complex is a bit dated and chemical toilet block needs upgraded. Apart from that well worth the money and will certainly be back next year.
Burrowhead Holiday Village, Dumfries and Galloway

17 Oct 2009 - wrayj wrote
*
This reviewer is:
a family with children, a tourer/motorhomer

Spent 2 nights at an apartment within village. Have to say scenery is fantastic with walks around the coastline. Have to say the oppostite about the apartments Lots could be done to improve these. They smelt of damp (including the bed & bedding) and were not the most comfortable to sleep or eat in party because of the smell. This site could be great if he owners spend a little TLC on their accommodation/reception area & bar area. Shame really!!!
Burrowhead Holiday Village, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Property Manager Response (8 Jan 2010):

Here at Burrowhead we take on board both positive and negative constructive comments.
Keeping accommodation 'aired' before use is something that we will continue to monitor, especially in the cooler months.
We are currently spending considerable time and effort on upgrading our Apartments and buildings.

16 Aug 2009 - caravanfolk wrote
*****
This reviewer is:
a family with children, a tourer/motorhomer

I was at this park for two nights with my granchildren and i can see the owners are doing the best they can to inprove this park i would recomend it to all ages.My grandchildren were abroad this year and they said this park was better than going abroad.we will all be back soon

10 Aug 2008 - jaywalker wrote
****

Just got home from our 3rd week at Burrowhead this year. Got to say that they do seem to be making an effort to improve the park. Also last nights cabaret singer Brian Le Vell was absolutely amazing. He completely outclasses all the other visiting acts we've seen there this year. I used to play in a duo so I could see that it was a really tough crowd. He really worked the crowd and he got them all up dancing and stuff.
Burrowhead Holiday Village, Dumfries & Galloway

30 Jul 2008 - janemonty wrote
***

BEEN HERE FOR 3 YEARS NOW WITH OUR TOURER. WE LIKE MOST THINGS ABOUT IT BUT THE SHOWERS ARE NEVER HOT AND WHEN YOU COMPLAIN YOU GET TOLD SOMEONE IS COMING TO FIX THE BOILER WHICH NEVER HAPPENS.
IT'S FRUSTRATING BECAUSE WHEN YOU BRING GIRLS THEY WANT SHOWERS EVERYDAY AND THE OASIS/SAUNA HAS NO DOORS ON THE SHOWERS SO THE GIRLS TEND TO STAY WITH FRIENDS NOW.
FRIENDLY PEOPLE THOUGH AND GOOD ENTERTAINMENT.
COME ON STEWART GET YOUR ACT TOGETHER YOU COULD MAKE A KILLING ON THIS SITE IF PROPERLY MAINTAINED.
Burrowhead Holiday Village, Newton Stewart, Dumfries & Galloway.

Property Manager Response (24 Feb 2009):

Dear Laura Bendall,
Thank you for your review.
We have upgraded the toilet/shower block for 2009.The swim spa changing areas have also received a face lift, including doors replacing the shower curtains in the ladies. I hope this meets with your approval.
Regards,
Stuart Fairclough

12 Jul 2008 - ayrunited wrote
*

We have a touring caravan and have been to Burrowhead a few times over the years and the only thing that lets this camp down is the toilets they are outdated with no heating. I take my grandchildren to this camp but we never use the showers or toilets belonging to the camp we use our own in our caravan

12 Jan 2008 - denmilne290 wrote
****

This will be my 3rd year having my tourer sited here for the season. This caravan site has a lot to offer the holiday maker with the on site facilities. The staff here are very good and polite and are good with the kids. The owners are putting money back into the site (not a common practice at a lot of sites) and last year built a large outdoor play area for the kids who seamed to have a lot of fun on it. The touring price for a full season to include winter storage (if required) is very competitave and although has gone up every season it is well within the rate of infaltion and is kept to a minimum which is one of the reasons a lot of campers take advantage of the all year rate.
Looking forward to another season at Burrowhead

20 Aug 2007 - mitchfcfc wrote
****
This reviewer is:
a family with children, a tourer/motorhomer

I find the caravan site ok as my family have a caravan at the ste and go up nearly every weekend and its a nice place because everyone gets on. its easy to make friends as the people up there are very friendly and hopefully il be visiting soon, the entertainment is good as well the do enterainment for children and adults. the only thing is the showers are cold but am sure theyl fix it soon.

3 Jan 2006 - rapala wrote
****
This reviewer is:
a family with children, a holidaymaker

ideal base for touring sw scotland,good onsite ammenities and stunning scenery,as a angler sea fishing is outstanding but access to some of the fishing marks is difficult for all but the seasoned rock angler,pollock,wrasse, dogs,conger,coalfish, mackerel and the odd bass and small cod will keep the dads and lads happy ,while the lasses can visit newton stewart,stranraer, kircudbright, non of the main towns are that far away,various farms,butterflie attractions,port logan fish pond all make interesting visits, back to the fisherman,sandend,terally,dunksey castle,mull head,old house point,get a os map and pack your rods.........

27 May 2005 - adrian1 wrote

This beautiful site is tucked away in the Machars area of Dumfires and Galloway amongst sparkling seas and within sight of Ireland and the Isle of Man.

Once the site of a WW2 army base it is now a well set out and well organised area looking down on the Irish Sea. It boasts an extensive bar on site as well as a shop, pool and numerous other sporting distractions.

I personally enjoyed the lovely walks along the coast to lonely beaches or peaceful fishing villages. It really is an escape from it all and I would recommend it to anyone who deserves something a bit different and wants to treat themselves to a taste of old style country relaxation. The locals are very friendly even though the Wickerman Movie was filmed on this very campsite! Highly recommended.